Gov. Dickson to swear in new Bayelsa council chairmen on Aug 14 


Bayelsa State Governor, Honourable Henry Seriake Dickson, will on Wednesday, August 14, 2019 swear in all the newly elected chairmen of the eight local government areas in the state.

The new chairmen emerged from last Saturday’s council poll conducted by the Bayelsa State Independent Electoral Commission (BYSIEC).

A press release by the governor’s Special Adviser on Public Affairs, Mr. Daniel Alabrah, stated that the council chairmen are to be sworn in alongside their vice chairmen.

The ceremony will take place inside the Exco Chambers of the Government House in Yenagoa at noon with guests expected to be seated by 11.30am.

Alabrah also stated that after the swearing in, the chairmen would inaugurate their various legislative councils at their local government headquarters on Thursday, August 15.

The new chairmen, who were all candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the election, defeated candidates of about 30 other political parties to emerge winners.

The new council bosses are Embeleakpo Alale (Sagbama), Ebiyon Turner (Ogbia), Nigeria Kia (Southern Ijaw) and Victor Isaiah (Brass)

Others are Dengiye Ubarugu (Kolokuma/Opokuma), Perekeme Bertola (Ekeremor), Oroupaye Nimizoua (Yenagoa) and Alalibo West (Nembe)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *