Rosbash, Hall, Young share Nobel Medicine Prize

The 2017 #NobelPrize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded to Jeffrey C. Hall, Michael Rosbash and Michael W. Young.

It was for their discoveries of molecular mechanisms controlling the circadian rhythm”.

The announcement was made in Stockholm   today and is the first of the prizes to be made known by the Nobel Prize Committee.

A screen shot of the winners

Circadian in circadian rhythm, originates from the Latin words circa meaning “around” and dies meaning “day” .

The scientists were able to establish how man’s biological clock helps to regulate sleep patterns, feeding behavior, hormone release and blood pressure.

A Fruit fly

Using fruit flies as a model organism, this year’s Nobel Laureates isolated a gene that controls the daily biological rhythm.

The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine has been awarded 107 times to 211 Nobel Laureates between 1901 and 2016. Here are the winners since 2000.

Yoshinori Ohsumi: “for his discoveries of mechanisms for autophagy”

William C. Campbell and Satoshi Ōmura
“for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites”

Youyou Tu
“for her discoveries concerning a novel therapy against Malaria”

John O’Keefe, May-Britt Moser and Edvard I. Moser “for their discoveries of cells that constitute a positioning system in the brain”

James E. Rothman, Randy W. Schekman and Thomas C. Südhof
“for their discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells”

Sir John B. Gurdon and Shinya Yamanaka
“for the discovery that mature cells can be reprogrammed to become pluripotent”

Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann
“for their discoveries concerning the activation of innate immunity”

Ralph M. Steinman
“for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity.

Robert G. Edwards “for the development of in vitro fertilization”

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Carol W. Greider and Jack W. Szostak “for the discovery of how chromosomes are protected by telomeres and the enzyme telomerase”

Harald zur Hausen
“for his discovery of human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer”

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi and Luc Montagnier
“for their discovery of human immunodeficiency virus”

Mario R. Capecchi, Sir Martin J. Evans and Oliver Smithies
“for their discoveries of principles for introducing specific gene modifications in mice by the use of embryonic stem cells”

Andrew Z. Fire and Craig C. Mello
“for their discovery of RNA interference – gene silencing by double-stranded RNA”

Barry J. Marshall and J. Robin Warren
“for their discovery of the bacterium Helicobacter pylori and its role in gastritis and peptic ulcer disease”

Richard Axel and Linda B. Buck
“for their discoveries of odorant receptors and the organization of the olfactory system”

Paul C. Lauterbur and Sir Peter Mansfield
“for their discoveries concerning magnetic resonance imaging”

Sydney Brenner, H. Robert Horvitz and John E. Sulston
“for their discoveries concerning genetic regulation of organ development and programmed cell death’”

Leland H. Hartwell, Tim Hunt and Sir Paul M. Nurse
“for their discoveries of key regulators of the cell cycle”

Arvid Carlsson, Paul Greengard and Eric R. Kandel
“for their discoveries concerning signal transduction in the nervous system”






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *